Public Safety Committee


The Public Safety Committee is appointed by the Mayor after every City Council election, usually in December. The members serve for two-year terms, at the pleasure of the Mayor. There are no term limits, however all members must be elected city council. At this time there are 3 members. Meetings are open to the public, but do not have a public comment period.

The committee will serve as a liaison between the appropriate department heads and the City Council. The purpose of the committee is to address "public safety" issues and concerns including, but not limited to:

  • Traffic
    o    Motor vehicle;
    o    Speed limits on city streets;
    o    Parking on public right-of-way;
    o    Stop and yield intersections;
    o    Regulation and control of traffic movement on city streets;
    o    Taxi franchises investigation, inspections and recommendations;
    o    Prohibition of certain motor vehicles on certain city streets;
    o    Recommendation of street lighting for safety;
    o    All other motor vehicle related problems, offenses;
    o    Pedestrian movement and safety; and
    o    Other wheeled devices, bicycles, dirt bikes, skateboards, etc.
  • Review and recommend to council new, revised or repeal of city ordinances as proposed by the Police or Fire Chiefs and/or committee members.
  • Representing Police and Fire Department needs before the entire council at retreats, budget hearings, and council meetings.

Committee Meeting Date/Time & Membership

Committee meetings are held on the 1st Tuesday of the month, unless canceled due to a lack of business. Committee meetings begin at 8:30 a.m. and meet back-to-back until all of the committees that have been called have met. Meetings are held in Council Chambers at 20 Stadium Drive, Thomasville, NC. Agendas are available at City Hall and are posted to the city website by 5:00 p.m. the Friday prior to the meeting date. For the most recent agendas click here.

A quorum of the Council may be present and may be part of any discussion, however, only the committee members may vote on agenda items before the committee.